NBA x adidas Celebrate 45th Anniversary of ABA with Hardwood Classics Month

NBA x adidas Celebrate 45th Anniversary of ABA with Hardwood Classics Month

The NBA and adidas are celebrating the 45th anniversary of the ABA with Hardwood Classics Month.

From 1967 to 1976, four teams which includes the New York Nets, San Antonio Spurs, Indiana Pacers and Denver Nuggets joined the NBA. Fast forward to 2012, it has been 45 years since the American Basketball Association started, and the NBA with adidas will make sure it’s legacy is never forgotten.

Starting February 1st 2012, nine teams in total will take part in the ABA Hardwood Classics month wearing uniforms and hosting events in their respected arenas. The teams taking part are the Miami Heat, Memphis Grizzlies, Denver Nuggets, Charlotte Bobcats, Los Angeles Clippers, New Jersey Nets, San Antonio Spurs, Minnesota Timberwolves and the Indiana Pacers.

Each team will wear their respective ABA team jersey and shorts, or if the birth of a NBA team was not founded on an ABA team, then an ABA team in their region will be chosen. Here is a list of uniforms you can expect the NBA teams to wear:

* Charlotte Bobcats – Carolina Cougars
* Denver Nuggets – (Same)
* Los Angeles Clippers – Los Angeles Stars
* Indiana Pacers – (Same)
* Memphis Grizzlies – Memphis Tams
* Miami Heat – Miami Floridians
* Minnesota Timberwolves – Minnesota Muskies
* New Jersey Nets – New York Nets
* San Antonio Spurs – Texas Chaparrals

A total of 38 games will be played in February celebrating Hardwood Classics Month. You can buy the jerseys starting February 2nd 2012 at


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *